Book Review: Covet – by J.R. Ward

Covet  I can be call a lot of things, loyal is at the top of the list. I refused to read any vampire story or look at a vampire movie or T.V. show because nothing, and I mean nothing, could compare to the love I had for my sparkly vampires. Yes, I was one of the millions of grown women who loved Edward Cullen.  So when I came across J.R. Ward’s adult paranormal romance series, The Black Dagger Brotherhood, it took me by surprise how fast I forgot about the timeless teen and fell in love with a more suitably aged group of supernatural beings. I can’t say that Wrath is my favorite, he may even be at the bottom of the list, but I am eagerly awaiting The King like the rest of the fans.

Okay, that’s my shout out for The BDB.

There are not many writers that I’ve found that write a second series that I like as much as the first one I happen to read. I’m not sure why that is, but I’m sure it goes back to loyalty. I read Covet because I’d read all the books in the BDB Series and also any author that I could find listed under: If you like The Black Dagger Brotherhood then… So I decided to give Ms. Wards second series a try. I originally read this story last year but I’m between books and decided to read them again because I’m a speed reader and when I’m not reading I’m spinning my own tale and after minimal sleep, and a handful of No-Doz, I tend to not remember like I use to in my younger year, not to mention I do what I call, skip-reading.

This year I decided I would do a better job at writing reviews. I’m always on the look out for a good book to read but until I find one I’ll re-read the ones I know I like instead of starting something I might like. I’m funny about my reading that way. So here’s my review on Covet.

I like that the story takes place in the same city as the BDB, it even as some of the same characters. One of the main characters, Marie Therese runs into Phury on her way out of bible study and his way into a NA meeting. Then there’s Trez, a shadow, who owns the club Marie Therese hooks at (that’s right, you fall in love and root for a prostitute). Marie-Therese has shown up in at least one BDB book, just a sentence or two.

So Jim Heron is a full time assassin working a side job in construction and he’s been chosen by Heaven and Hell to be the quarterback in the ultimate game, where whoever wins gets control of the earth. Seven souls have to be saved or not-saved. Jim’s fullbacks are Eddie and Adrian and while I do love Jim, I’m team Eddie all the way. He reminds me a little of Zadist. Jim’s first game is to help one, Vin diPietro make the right choice at a crossroad in his life. Jim’s a damn assassin, he takes life, not save it, but he’s a company man and once given an assignment he’s all in.  I hate to give away spoilers and so I try to stay away from the meat of the story but I wasn’t disappointed and while this story is not like the BDB, it still had the same dark gritty feel as Ms. Ward’s popular series. As each scene plays out in my head while I read it’s always dark, even when the description says it’s sunny out. The men are big and strong and tough, the women, just as bad ass, which I do love. There’s twist and turns, unexpected happenings and surprise reveals that keep you guessing and the end is as every fairy tale should be. Pick up or download a copy, you won’t regret it if paranormal romance is your thing.

~ by KOW on January 28, 2014.

3 Responses to “Book Review: Covet – by J.R. Ward”

  1. I love The Sun Wolf and can’t wait for the follow-up. Thanks so much for sharing your talent.

  2. The Sun Wolf was absolutely wonderful. I fell in love with the characters. I laughed, cried, my heart at times beat fast… I simply could not put it down. I lived and felt each scene. Thank you so very much for sharing. I look forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply

 
JA Huss

Official Blog of New York Times Bestselling Author, JA Huss

Renea Mason

Author of Contemporary and Paranormal Erotic Romance Books - Love Undefined

Reembody

You Are Stronger Than You Think

rushboundblog

Crescent Bound and More

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

As Yet Untitled

My journey in writing a novel

